Welcome to the 2020 Seniors’ webpage

Welcome to the Seniors Section.  RGC Seniors participate in League and Friendly matches against local clubs, run monthly Stablefords, and a number of other competitions designed to provide a variety of golfing activities throughout the year.  

The section is run by a small committee elected each year at the AGM and is governed by the 2020 Seniors Guidelines and Rules  which will provide much more information on the organisation and activities of the section.  Committee members are identified below and may be able to help if you have any general questions.

This web page will aim to highlight upcoming activities, along with match and competition results.  A one page snapshot of the year’s events is available to view or print with the RGC Seniors Calendar 2020 (web) , and if you scroll down to the bottom of this page there are also some useful links to previous years’ web pages (note: 2019 works fine, but due to a system change, earlier years may appear incomplete).

If you have any queries regarding an entry here please direct them to the Seniors’ Web Editor, Geoff Civil, using the contact form at the bottom of the page.

2020 Commentary on Events and Results

Please Note: ∗∗∗ All events scheduled from April 1st to July 21st (shown in gray) were cancelled due to the COVID-19 pandemic.  The revised schedule of Seniors’ events for the second half of 2020 is shown in orange.

NEW!  As the notice board in the locker room is out of use, read the minutes of the Seniors’ Committee using these links:-

Reading Golf Club Seniors Minutes 20th July 2020

===> The current Parfitt table, which this year will be the best 4 of the 5 available Stablefords can be found on the main notice board in the club lobby. 

===> Progress of the Gerry Wild competition is also posted in the lobby.

 ===> A sign-up sheet for the Loving Cup match on Monday 19th Oct at 10:00 am is in the lobby.

===> The October Stableford, which could not be played on the 5th due to waterlogged conditions has been re-arranged for Wednesday 21st October, the same day as the Club Stableford.

===> The Collis Bowl will not be run this winter.

Wed 22nd Jan – Stableford
Book in on BRS for all these Seniors’ Stablefords.  Unfortunately, persistent fog delayed the opening of the course and this competition had to be cancelled.  It has been re-arranged to take place on Wed 12th February.
Wed 12th Feb – StablefordThis is the re-arranged January Stableford.  The winner was Graham Spearpoint with 38 points on countback over Mike Barraclough.  
Wed 19th Feb – StablefordThis was won by Bill Allnutt on 36 points with John Rusby second with 35 points.
Wed 26th Feb – Texas Scramble Integration at Caversham HeathTwo tee start at 9am; teams of 3 mixed Ladies and Gents from both clubs.  
Wed 11th Mar – StablefordThis is the first of eight Parfitt qualifiers; the best 5 of 8 monthly stableford scores to count.  The winner this month was Colin Shearer on 38 points, with Mike Barraclough second on 37.
Wed 25th Mar – Integration Stableford  at Caversham HeathTee off from 9am in teams of three; the best 2 scores to count on each hole.
Wed 1st Apr – Frilford Heath (away)This is the first Friendly match of the season.  Friendly matches generally start at 10:00 am, unless otherwise advised.  Volunteer captains are requested for Friendlies. 
Mon 6th April – StablefordThis is the first of five Stanbrook qualifiers; the best 3 of 5 scores determines the winner of the John Cunningham trophy, and the top 9 scorers invited to play in the Stanbrook Final if they meet the additional League conditions. 
Wed 15th Apr – East Berks (away)The opening match of our League Season.  All League matches start at 9:00 am, unless otherwise advised.  Our League Captain for 2020 is Jeff Smith. 
Thu 23rd April – Annual League Golf and DinnerTo be held this year at Calcot.
Mon 27th Apr – Calcot (home)League Match 
Thu 30th AprilFinal date for completion of the 2019-20 Collis competition, and for the draw for the Gerry Wild singles. 
Fri 1st May – Buchanan TrophyFirst round match vs.  These matches are played on Friday evenings, teeing off at 4:00 pm.  Graham Spearpoint is our coordinator for these matches.
Wed 6th May – Stableford 
Mon 11th May – Sonning (away)League match.  
Fri 15th May – Mixed PairsA friendly get-together with the Ladies in a mixed-pair Greensomes event.
Mon 18th May – Newbury (home)League match. 
Wed 27th May – HP Soundy CupClub-run competition for Seniors.
Mon 1st Jun – Castle Royle (away)Friendly match.
Mon 8th Jun – StablefordPlayed for the Harry Greenwood Trophy. 
Fri 12th Jun – Buchanan TrophySecond round match vs.
Mon 15th Jun – Goring & Streatley (home)League match. 
Wed 17th Jun – Michael Tierney Centenary TrophyClub-run competition for Seniors and Senior Ladies.  Medal round off white tees  (for men).
Mon 22nd Jun – Henley (away)League match: teeing off at the earlier time of 08:30 am. 
Mon 29th Jun – Goring & Streatley (away)League match.
Wed 1st Jul – Stableford 
Fri 3rd Jul – Buchanan TrophyThird round match vs. 
Mon 6th Jul – East Berks (home)League match.  
Mon 13th Jul – Castle Royle (home)Friendly match teeing off at 10:00 am.  
Mon 20th Jul – Newbury & Crookham (away)League match.
Wed 22nd Jul – Michael Tierney TrophyClub-run competition for Seniors (male and female).  This was won by Cliff Hayden on nett 68.  Second was Bob Joyce nett 69, followed by Bob Reed, Ron Gooch and Cathy Jones, all with nett 70.
Mon 27th Jul – Stableford This was won by Tony Flood with 39 points.  Colin Shearer beat Mark Richards into second place on count-back, both on 36 points.
Sat 1st August – notice…The draw for the Gerry Wild is available on the main notice board.
Mon 10th Aug – StablefordThis was won by Geoff Civil with 40 points, with Jeff Burton second on 39.  David Pope was third on 38 points.
Wed 19th Aug – Seniors Club ChampionshipsDue to heavy rain during the day and waterlogged greens, this was abandoned and re-scheduled to Wed 2nd September.
Wed 2nd Sept – Re-Run of Seniors Club ChampionshipsThe winner of the nett competition was Michael Mills with nett 68.  Second was Bob Joyce (nett 69), and third Richard Parry with nett 71.  The best gross score was 78 recorded by Ian Roostan.
Mon 7th Sept – StablefordThis was won by Brendan Rea with 40 points.  In second place was David Pope with 38, with Jeff Burton third on 37 points.
Wed 16th Sept – HP Soundy CupClub run competition for Seniors.  This was won by Club Captain John Rusby with 35 points, beating Graham Spearpoint into second place on countback.  John Labarte with 34 points was third.
Thu 24th Sep – President’s Prize for SeniorsClub-run competition for Seniors.  The winner was Stephen Lee with 35 points.  With the same score, but beaten into second and third places respectively were John Robinson and Clive Birchfield.
Mon 28th Sep – Bogey competition for the Alan Peters Cup

The winner was Eddie Brooks (pictured below with the Alan Peters Cup) with an excellent +5.  Second on +4 was Nigel Snaith, with Roland Stevens third on +3. 

Mon 5th Oct – Stableford Heavy rain closed the course and this fixture has been re-arranged for Wednesday 21st October.
Wed 14th Oct – Yellow Ball 
Mon 19th Oct – Loving CupOur annual 4BBB challenge match against the Ladies starting at 10:00 am. 
Wed 21st Oct – re-arranged Stableford 
Mon 2nd Nov – Millenium PutterStableford using a maximum of 3 clubs plus a putter. 
Wed 18th Nov (TBC) – AGM DayThe day usually comprises: Captain’s Swansong Golf with prizes; Lunch; Trophy presentations for the year; AGM.
  
P1040407 (480x640) (433x637)
Ron Gooch - Seniors' Captain
IMG_20191211_122929752 (2)
Jeff Smith - League Captain
P1030322 (427x640)
John Willcocks - Competition and Minutes Secretary
IMG_20191211_122339691_BURST000_COVER (5)
John Beville - Treasurer
graham spearpoint (429x640)
Graham Spearpoint Buchanan Coordinator
IMG_20191211_122733377 (2)
David Bennett - Committee Member
IMG_20191211_124502621 (2)
Mike Barraclough - Fixtures Secretary

Contact the Seniors Web Editor